TMCnet - The World's Largest Communications and Technology Community
ITEXPO begins in:   New Coverage :  Asterisk  |  Fax Software  |  SIP Phones  |  Small Cells
 

Products & Services Selection Guide
October 2001

Application Service Providers Roundup


Ready, Waiting And Compelling: A Resource For Communications ASPs
The Internet is propelling the transformation of both the traditional call center and the manner in which effective sales and marketing efforts are delivered. Competitive business pressures and customer demands mandate communications delivery over every medium in addition to superior customer-facing services with blended agents. For many businesses, the expense versus the ROI in the technologies (and support personnel) makes it difficult or impossible to adopt chat, Web callback, intelligent e-mail routing, VoIP, ACD voice mail or Web collaboration. Similarly, stellar CRM software solutions, application integration, workforce and workflow management, automated IT and help desk support or general business applications can be too expensive for all but the largest enterprises to license and operate on premise-based systems, let alone to provide the warm bodies to staff an operation. Then, too, the increasing complexity of the software (and multiple users within large enterprises) makes both the cost of ownership and the cost of upgrading increasingly expensive, including the attendant associated distribution and administrative costs. Enter the application service provider.

An application service provider (ASP) can be defined as a company that provides and manages applications and computer services to individuals or companies over the Internet or through a private network. The ASP owns and operates applications and servers and employs the staff for maintaining the operation. Services provided by an ASP are billed on a variety of plans, including pay-per-use, subscriptions and licenses. ASP services are an important alternative not only for smaller companies having to cope with smaller budgets and fewer technology resources, but also for larger companies wishing to outsource a portion of their business process. In fact, there are many services available to SOHOs and individuals: data storage/retrieval, instant messaging, office management, phone call notification, graphics and more.

While investigating the myriad benefits your company can potentially derive through hosted applications and services, having several questions at the ready may assist you in "comparing and contrasting" potential service providers. A few important issues include data and connection security, moving data from your applications/systems to the ASP application, application access (such as through software or a browser), procedures for handling hardware failures (i.e., sufficient system redundancy) and service issues, application training and support for your staff, data backup methodology, service level agreements and business processes that may be affected by the hosted application and how they will be affected.

ASPs come in all sizes, and their offerings run the gamut from specific, targeted applications to megasolutions. The following companies are representative of that remarkable range: an array of effective, efficient and affordable hosted applications and services that can pay dividends to you and your customers.


Software Categories:   A=Web portals
B=Self-help/self-service
C=Electronic bill presentment and payment
D=CRM Solutions
E=Data/knowledge base
F=Communications
G=Sales/marketing solutions
H=Web site analysis

ACME Interactive
Kim Green
service@ourproject.com
800-632-1077
www.ourproject.com
B, D, G

Agilera, Inc.
Jennifer Wing
jwing@agilera.com
303-874-5872
www.agilera.com
B, D, E, G

Alorica, Inc.
Ed Kisman
ekisman@alorica.com
630-775-1900
www.alorica.com
A, B, C, D

AmeriNet, Inc.
Sales dept.
info@debit-it.com
800-800-0467
www.debit-it.com
C

AppShow
Kevin Nelson
knelson@appshow.com

949-631-0274
www.appshow.com
B, D, G, H

Aventura Networks, Inc.
Craig A. Waltzer
cwaltzer@aventuranetworks.com
305-937-2000
www.aventuranetworks.com
A, D, F, G

Business Link International
David Baeder
daveb@blifax.com
800-929-1643
www.blifax.com
G

Catapult Creative Group
Terri Wallace
terri@catapultnow.com

856-235-7500
www.presentationgiant.com
B, F, G

Central Net Corp.
Chris Chang
info@cnc-global.com
626-330-8546
www.cnc-global.com
E, F

CheckFree Corp.
678-375-3000
www.checkfree.com
C

ClientReps.com
Taher Khan
solutions@clientreps.com
914-882-2587
www.clientreps.com
D

Computer Talk Technology, Inc.
Sales dept.
info@icescape.com
905-882-5000
www.computer-talk.com
B, F

Connected Corporation
Wayne St. Amand
wst.amand@connected
.
com
800-353-3078
www.connected.com
B, G

DCA Services
Karen Halvorson
info@dcaservices.com
405-951-9300
www.dcaservices.com
B, C

digiMine Inc.
Steve Finnegan
stevef@digimine.com

425-460-5000
www.digimine.com
H

eAssist Global Solutions
Fran Ducharme
fran.ducharme@eassist.com
858-458-4188
www.eassist.com
B, D, E

EchoMail, Inc.
Christine Griencewic
christine.griencewic@echomail.com
617-354-8585
www.echomail.com
C, D, F, G

Echopass Corp.
Nathan Peterson
nathan_peterson@echopass.com
801-258-7000
www.echopass.com
D, F

Fuze Technologies, Inc.
Chuck Van Court
cvancourt@fuze.com

888-941-3893
www.fuze.com
B, E

Givex Corporation
Karen Budahazy
karen@givex.com
877-350-9660, ext. 234
www.givex.com
C, G

Harte-Hanks, Inc.
Elizabeth Donovan
edonovan@hartehanks.com

800-456-9748
www.harte-hanks.com
D

iBasis Inc.
Sales dept.
info@ibasis.net
781-505-7500
www.ibasis.net
F

ICT Group. Inc.
John D. Campbell
info@ictgroup.com
800-201-1085
www.ictgroup.com
D

iemagine
Bob Curry
info@iemagine.com
312-596-8162
www.iemagine.com
B, D, E, F

InclusiveASPnetworks
Skip Rafferty
skiprafferty@earthlink.net
609-926-6230
www.homisco.com
E, F, G

Interactive Portal
Debbie Thornburg
debbiet@interactiveportal.com
317-803-8000
www.interactiveportal.com
F

InterOPS Management Solutions
Jeffrey M. Kaplan
jkaplan@interops.com
888-872-2889
www.interops.com
G

Ineto, Inc.
Jeff Gossman
sales@ineto.com
877-GO-INETO
www.ineto.com
B, D, E, F

ISC
Bob Jurik
bob@isc.com
212-477-8800
www.isc.com
G

IXS WEBOFFICE
David Minns
dminns@ixs-weboffice.com
905-853-4966
www.ixs-weboffice.com
D

ManagedOps.com
Pam Maxfield
pmaxfield@managedops.com
603-644-7837
www.managedops.com
D

Message Time Inc.
Gene Roush
generoush@messagetime.com
800-937-9921
www.messagetime.com
A, D, E, F, G

Millennium Teleservices
Jacqueline R. Harris
info@mmtel.com
877-877-7698
www.mmtel.com
D

Networld Communications Inc.
Bryan Barber
bbarber@ndw.com
415-276-8085
www.ndw.com
F

PeopleSoft eCenter
(a division of PeopleSoft, Inc.)
Deepak Gupta
deepak_gupta@peoplesoft.com
800-380-7638
www.peoplesoft.com
C, D

Project Arena
Caleb Entrekin
caleb@projectarena.com
510-286-8020
www.projectarena.com
D, E, G

QUIQ
Rich Buchanan
info@quiq.com
650-294-2900
www.quiq.com
B, D, E

RightForce
Lori Fratilla
lfratilla@rightforce.com
877-336-7231
www.rightforce.com
F, G

SafeHarbor Technology Corporation
Sue Cummings
marketing@safeharbor.com
206-922-5000
www.safeharbor.com
B

SAS Institute
Richard Roach
richard.roach@sas.com
919-677-8000
www.sas.com
D, H

ShoWiz, Inc.
Sales dept.
info@showiz.com
510-651-0308
www.showiz.com
G

Speaklink, Inc.
Ton Yazici
tony@speaklink.com
206-832-3500 / 877-773-2554
www.speaklink.com
A, B, D

Syntellect
Mike Garvey
mgarvey@syntellect.com
602-789-2772
www.syntellect.com
B, C, D, E. F, G

TalkingNets, Inc.
Justin Donaton
justin.donaton@talkingnets.com
910-332-1800
www.talkingnets.com
F

Vail Systems
Joseph Carey
jcarey@vailsys.com
800-360-8245
www.vailsys.com
D, F

VASTNetworks, LLC
(dba VASTNetworks.net)
Ron Baron
rbaron@vastnetworks.net
509-575-1605
www.vastnetworks.net
D

Vividence
Blake Wise
blakew@vividence.com
650-645-5000
www.vividence.com
H

WebMiner
Taddy Hall
info@webminer.com
212-813-6768
www.webminer.com
G

West Corp.
Mark Meudt
sales@west.com
800-841-9000
www.west.com
B, D, F, G

White Pajama
Ellen Pensky
ellenp@whitepajama.com
877-725-2621
www.whitepajama.com
D

WorldManuals A/S
Andrew Martyn
am@worldmanuals.com
+45-3338-6600
www.worldmanuals.com
A, B, E

[ Return To The October 2001 Table Of Contents ]


Upcoming Events
ITEXPO West 2012
October 2- 5, 2012
The Austin Convention Center
Austin, Texas
MSPWorld
The World's Premier Managed Services and Cloud Computing Event
Click for Dates and Locations
Mobility Tech Conference & Expo
October 3- 5, 2012
The Austin Convention Center
Austin, Texas
Cloud Communications Summit
October 3- 5, 2012
The Austin Convention Center
Austin, Texas

Subscribe FREE to all of TMC's monthly magazines. Click here now.