TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



IEEE Standards Association Applauds Outstanding Standards Development Achievements
[December 03, 2018]

IEEE Standards Association Applauds Outstanding Standards Development Achievements

IEEE (News - Alert), the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for humanity, today announced the recipients of the 2018 IEEE Standards Association (IEEE-SA) Awards, which were presented at the annual awards ceremony on Sunday, 2 December 2018.

This press release features multimedia. View the full release here:

Top row, from left: Bernard Metzler, John DAmbrosia (on behalf of Ethernet Alliance and IEEE 802.3 W ...

Top row, from left: Bernard Metzler, John DAmbrosia (on behalf of Ethernet Alliance (News - Alert) and IEEE 802.3 Working Group), David Chalupsky, Lee Coulter, Stephen Shull Middle row, from left: Michael Janezic, Keith Houser, T. W. Olsen, William Whyte Bottom row, from left: Daleep Mohla, Karen Bartleson, Rich Kennedy (Photo: Business Wire)

IEEE-SA Awards showcase notable leadership and involvement in standards development. The 2018 IEEE-SA recipients include:

IEEE-SA Conformity Assessment Award for major contributions to the development and promotion of products that conform to IEEE standards:

  • Ethernet Alliance
  • Keith Houser, IEEE Member, Consulting Engineer, Electric Transmission and Substation organization of Dominion Energy, Richmond, VA

IEEE-SA Distinguished Service Award for outstanding and dedicated service to the IEEE-SA Standards Board based on major contributions to the standards development process:

  • Michael Janezic, IEEE Senior Member, Chief of the Radio-Frequency Technology Division, Communications Technology Laboratory at the National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD

IEEE Educational Activities Board/SA Standards Education Award for significant and/or regular contributions to standards education:

  • Jorge L. Contreras, Professor of Law, University of Utah S.J. Quinney College of Law, Salt Lake City, UT

IEEE-SA Emerging Technology Award for advancing, initiating, or progressing a new technology within the IEEE-SA open consensus process:

  • Lee Coulter, Senior Vice President, Ascension, St. Louis, MO
  • IEEE 802.3™ Ethernet Working Group

IEEE-SA International Award for extraordinary contribution to establishing IEEE-SA as a world-class leader in standrdization:

  • Leslie T. Falkingham, IEEE Fellow, Professor at Aston University, Birmingham, UK and Xi'an Jaiotong University, Xi'an, China
  • William Whyte, IEEE Member, Chief Technology Officer, OnBoard Security, Wilmington, MA

IEEE-SA Lifetime Achievement Award for significant technical contributions to a standards committee or IEEE field of interest:

  • Ted W. Olsen, IEEE Life Senior Member, Retired

The IEEE-SA Managing Director's Special Recognition is presented in appreciation of outstanding work that significantly benefits IEEE and IEEE-SA in the advancement of technology for humanity:

  • Daleep Mohla, IEEE Life Fellow, DCM (News - Alert) Electrical Consulting Services, Missouri City, TX

IEEE-SA Standards Medallion Recipients for major contributions to the development of standards:

  • David Chalupsky, IEEE Member, Principal Engineer, Intel (News - Alert), Santa Clara, CA
  • Roy Cideciyan, IEEE Fellow, Research Scientist, IBM Research, Zurich, Switzerland
  • Paul R. Croll, IEEE Life Senior Member, Retired
  • Alan Flatman, IEEE Member, Retired
  • Richard Kennedy, IEEE Senior Member, Independent Consultant
  • Bernard Metzler, Principal Research Staff Member, IBM Research Zurich, Switzerland
  • Stephen Shull, IEEE Life Member, Retired

IEEE Charles Proteus (News - Alert) Steinmetz Award for contributions to the development of standards in the field of electrical and electronics engineering:

  • Craig M. Wellman, IEEE Life Fellow, Consultant, CMW Consulting

The Ron Waxman Design Automation Standards Committee Meritorious Service Award for outstanding service exemplifying the spirit of the Design Automation Standards Committee (DASC):

  • Karen Bartleson, IEEE Senior Member, Retired

"IEEE-SA is proud to acknowledge these recipients for their outstanding effort to further IEEE standards," said Don Wright, president of the IEEE Standards Association. "Through their technical skills, hard work and dedication, these honorees ignite the spirit of advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. These IEEE-SA Awards provide us a showcase to express our gratitude for excellent contributions in standards development."

IEEE-SA awards are presented to qualified individuals, IEEE-SA members, and/or member organizations. Nominations are encouraged. For additional information visit the IEEE-SA Awards webpage.

To learn more about IEEE-SA, visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter, connect with us on LinkedIn or on the Beyond Standards Blog.

About the IEEE Standards Association

The IEEE Standards Association, a globally recognized standards-setting body within IEEE, develops consensus standards through an open process that engages industry and brings together a broad stakeholder community. IEEE standards set specifications and best practices based on current scientific and technological knowledge. The IEEE-SA has a portfolio of over 1,200 active standards and over 650 standards under development. For more information visit the IEEE-SA Web site.

About IEEE

IEEE is the world's largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Learn more at the IEEE Web site.

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2019 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy