TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



SEMI Announces Results of Board Elections and Leadership Appointments
[July 10, 2012]

SEMI Announces Results of Board Elections and Leadership Appointments

(Targeted News Service Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) SAN FRANCISCO, July 9 -- The Semiconductor Equipment and Materials International issued the following news release: SEMI today announced the results of its annual Board of Directors elections. Jifan Gao, chairman and CEO of Trina Solar, Nobu Koshiba, president of JSR Corp., Sue Lin, vice chairman of Hermes-Epitek, and Natsunosuke Yago, president of Ebara Corp., were named as new directors to the board. The re-election of existing board members was also announced.

The elected board members' tenure becomes effective at the annual SEMI membership meeting, to be held Wednesday, July 11, during the SEMICON West 2012 and Intersolar North America expositions in San Francisco, California. Douglas A. Neugold, chairman, CEO and president of ATMI, Inc., will continue to serve as SEMI chairman and Andre-Jacques Auberton-Herve, president, CEO and chairman of the Board of Soitec Group, will continue in the position of vice-chairman of the board. Yong Han Lee, chairman of Wonik, was elected to the position of second vice chair.

"On behalf of SEMI and its members, I am pleased to welcome these distinguished industry leaders who will be tremendous assets to the SEMI International Board of Directors," said Denny McGuirk, president and CEO of SEMI. "I'm also pleased that, in this time of transition for the association, Doug and Andre have agreed to serve an additional year in their leadership roles on the Board." "I join Denny in welcoming the new members of the board. I'm honored to serve for another year as we focus on adding greater value to SEMI membership participating in the semiconductor, photovoltaic and emerging market sectors," said Doug Neugold, SEMI chairman.

In accordance with the association's by-laws, the following nine board members were re-elected for a two-year term: Yong Han Lee, chairman, Wonik; Toshio Maruyama, chairman, Advantest Corp.; Osamu Nakamura, CEO and president, Hitachi High-Technologies (Singapore) Pte Ltd.; Douglas Neugold, chairman, CEO and president, ATMI, Inc.; Steve Newberry, vice chairman of the Board, Lam Research Corp.; Mary Puma, chairman and CEO, Axcelis Technologies, Inc.; Tetsuo Tsuneishi, vice chairman of the Board, Tokyo Electron Ltd.; Richard Wallace, CEO and president, KLA-Tencor; and Eicke Weber, director, Fraunhofer Institute.

Robert P. Akins, chairman and CEO of Cymer Inc., J.C. Kim, group director of Edwards Limited, and Kosei Nomiya, chairman of Ultratech K.K , will continue on the Board as non-voting members for one year.

SEMI's 20 voting directors and 11 emeritus directors represent companies from Europe, China, Japan, Korea, North America, and Taiwan, reflecting the global scope of the association's activities. SEMI directors are elected by the general membership as voting members of the board and can serve a total of four two-year terms.

TNS mv45 120710-3945715 (c) 2012 Targeted News Service

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy