TMCnet Feature
March 24, 2021

How To Know If Someone Blocked You On Snapchat



Getting blocked on Snapchat is one of the most frustrating experiences. This is especially true if it is done by someone you are fond of or care about. It is even worse if you snapped very often with this person because you feel you have lost a part of yourself or a close friend. Also, Snapchat will not send you any notification to notify you of the fact either.



This often leaves you confused about what is happening and wanting to know if you have been blocked. There are several reasons why someone may want to block you on Snapchat.

Perhaps, your loved one is cheating on you. But, according to the report from celltrackingapps, there are ways to bypass the block and check out their profile or even private Snaps with the help of different tools. But, let’s not steer away from the main topic - how do I even know if I had been blocked?

Regardless of whether it is personal or professional, intentional or not, there are ways you can use to know if you got blocked.

Check Your Recent Conversations

Elise Moreau from Lifewire suggests checking your chat history as a good place to start.  If a person has blocked you and you have not deleted your conversation history, your correspondence with them will disappear from your chat list.

This is a great way of knowing if someone intentionally blocked you on Snapchat. It is crucial to note that this is only possible if you have not deleted your chat history with them before the block.

To do this, open the Snapchat app on your mobile device. Navigate to the conversations tab by tapping the speech bubble. If the user who you suspect blocked you isn't appearing in your chat list despite having a recent conversation with them, it is highly likely that they have blocked you, or deleted their Snapchat account. If this option does not work out for you, fear not, there are more!

Check Your Friends List, And See If Anyone Has Disappeared

Your friend’s list on Snapchat contains the contacts of everyone you are currently active with, or people on your contact list with public profiles, allowing you to see their Snapchat activities.

If one of your contacts suddenly disappears from this list, there are two possibilities; the individual deleted their Snapchat account or, you have been blocked! The latter is often the case, as many individuals rarely leave the platform.

To check your friends list, open Snapchat on your mobile device and swipe from left to right across the screen. Go through the friend’s list and search for the contact in question.

Search For A User Name Or Full Name

If someone blocked you on their Snapchat, you will not be able to see their user or full name when you search it on the Snapchat App. This is one of the simplest, quickest, and sure ways of finding out if you have been blocked.

However, if they simply deleted you from their friend list, you will still be able to view their name on your friends list, but won't be able to interact depending on their privacy settings.

To the search, tap the magnifying glass ( search icon) at the top of the screen. Key in the full name or username and search. If you have been blocked, their name won't show up on your friends list. If their name appears, but you do not receive any notifications or messages from the user, they might have removed you from their friends list but not blocked by them.

Tip! A username is the most accurate method of searching for someone on Snapchat. This is because user names are unique to themselves, while full names aren’t.

Search For Them Using A Friend Or Different Account

If all the above options have failed, and it's necessary to know if someone has blocked you on Snapchat, you can ask a relative, friend, coworker, or other acquaintance who is not friends with the user you suspect might have blocked you to check.

If the other person confirms that they can still view snaps and messages, or can search for the suspected account and find it, then you have been blocked. Now, asking other parties might be weird sometimes for privacy and self reasons. Simply checking from another account is a better option.

To do this, Log out from your current account and register a new one. To sign up for another Snapchat account, you will be required to provide a full name, birth date, username, password, and phone number.

Once complete, you can then use the new account to search for the suspected account by entering their username or full name into the search bar. If it pops up in the new search, then you have been blocked! If not, the individual has likely deleted their Snapchat Account.



» More TMCnet Feature Articles
SHARE THIS ARTICLE

LATEST TMCNET ARTICLES

» More TMCnet Feature Articles