TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Incumbents keep Kenergy board seats [Messenger-Inquirer, Owensboro, Ky. :: ]
[June 18, 2014]

Incumbents keep Kenergy board seats [Messenger-Inquirer, Owensboro, Ky. :: ]

(Messenger-Inquirer (Owensboro, KY) Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) June 18--Two incumbents on the Kenergy Corp. board of directors -- Larry Elder in District 6 and Brent Wigginton in District 9 -- retained their seats on the board after contested elections.

And Steve Henry, Domtar's plant manager, won a spot on the board to represent large industries in an open seat race. He defeated Jason Curry, human resources manager at Century Aluminum, Hawesville.

Allan Eyre, who had represented the industry sector since 2008, did not seek another term.

The vote in the industry seat election was: Henry, 13; Curry, 5. Nineteen large industries were eligible to vote in that race.

Elder, who has represented District 6 in western Daviess County since 1996, faced strong challengers in Owensboro funeral director Billy Boyle and Century, Hawesville's plant manager, Sean Byrne. The vote in that race was: Boyle, 435; Byrne, 487; Elder, 516.

Wigginton, who has held the District 9 seat for Hancock County since 2009, bested Richard Basham. The vote tally in that contest was: Basham, 499; Wigginton, 520.

Incumbents Randy Powell in District 4, western Henderson County, and Billy Reid, District 8, northeast Daviess County, also will return to the board. They had no opposition for their seats.

All of the terms are for three years.

Other board members are: District 1, Glenn Cox; District 2, Robert White; District 3, Chris Mitchell; District 5, William Denton; District 7, John B. Warren II; and District 10, Jonathan Ayer.

Some candidates said this year's races attracted more attention because of the issues facing Big Rivers Electric Corp. The wholesale cooperative is still trying to recover from losing its top two customers, Century Aluminum's smelters in Hawesville and Sebree.

Kenergy is one of Big Rivers' three co-op owners, and the utility receives two seats on the six-member Big Rivers board.

The election results were announced at Kenergy's annual meeting June 10.

Joy Campbell, 691-7299, ___ (c)2014 the Messenger-Inquirer (Owensboro, Ky.) Visit the Messenger-Inquirer (Owensboro, Ky.) at Distributed by MCT Information Services

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy