TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Camp and Levin Announce Ways and Means Tax Reform Working Groups
[February 14, 2013]

Camp and Levin Announce Ways and Means Tax Reform Working Groups

Feb 14, 2013 (Congressional Documents and Publications/ContentWorks via COMTEX) -- Washington, DC - Today, Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp (R-MI) and Ranking Member Sandy Levin (D-MI) announced the formation of 11 separate Ways and Means Committee Tax Reform Working Groups.

The groups will be led by one Republican Member serving as Chair and one Democratic Member serving as Vice Chair. Each of the 11 groups will review current law in its designated issue area and then identify, research and compile feedback related to the topic of the working group. The working groups will be responsible for compiling feedback on its designated topic from: (1) stakeholders, (2) academics and think tanks, (3) practitioners, (4) the general public and (5) colleagues in the House of Representatives. Once the work of those groups has been completed, the Joint Committee on Taxation will prepare a report for the full Committee, due by April 15, 2013, that describes current law in each issue area and summarizes the other information gathered by the Committee Members.

Announcing the formation of the groups, Chairman Camp stated, "I am pleased to be working collaboratively with Ranking Member Levin and all of our Committee Members as we continue our efforts to fix our broken tax code. Regardless of party or politics, everyone can agree that comprehensive tax reform should result in a simpler, fairer tax code for families and more jobs for American workers. In addition to Committee hearings, these working groups will be one more way for the Committee to gather the necessary information to produce the best possible legislation." Ranking Member Levin added, "Tax reform must build on a full understanding of present provisions as a path to a simpler, fairer and adequate tax code. These working groups provide a framework to undertake in-depth fact-finding on a variety of important issues related to tax reform." The 11 working groups and their respective Chair and Vice Chair are listed below (groups listed in alphabetical order).

Charitable/Exempt Organizations David Reichert (R-WA) John Lewis (D-GA) Debt, Equity and Capital Kenny Marchant (R-TX) Jim McDermott (D-WA) Education and Family Benefits Diane Black (R-TN) Danny Davis (D-IL) Energy Kevin Brady (R-TX) Mike Thompson (D-CA) Financial Services Adrian Smith (R-NE) John Larson (D-CT) Income and Tax Distribution Lynn Jenkins (R-KS) Joseph Crowley (D-NY) International Devin Nunes (R-CA) Earl Blumenauer (D-OR) Manufacturing Jim Gerlach (R-PA) Linda Sanchez (D-CA) Pensions/Retirement Pat Tiberi (R-OH) Ron Kind (D-WI) Real Estate Sam Johnson (R-TX) Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ) Small Business/Pass Throughs Vern Buchanan (R-FL) Allyson Schwartz (D-PA) Read this original document at: DocumentID=320022

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2017 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy