TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Incumbent commissioners, JP Countz re-elected
[November 07, 2012]

Incumbent commissioners, JP Countz re-elected

HUNTSVILLE, Nov 07, 2012 (The Huntsville Item - McClatchy-Tribune Information Services via COMTEX) -- Walker County residents in precincts 1 and 3 were pleased with the job their commissioners have been doing and decided that four more years were in order.

Incumbents B.J. Gaines Jr. and Bobby Warren were reelected to serve on the Commissioners Court on Tuesday. In the other contested county race, Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Mike Countz was elected to remain in the position he was appointed to following the death of Richard Duncan in 2011.

As of 11:30 p.m. Tuesday, all but one box, Precinct 404, had been counted. Election officials were also working on getting mail-in ballots counted so the numbers are unofficial.

Gaines was able to edge challenger Jim Willett by a count of 2,252 to 1,898 to retain his position as commissioner of Precinct 1. Gaines received 54.27 percent of the vote.

"I really liked the outcome and hoped it would be that way," Gaines said. "I really look forward to working another four years for the people of Walker County and enjoying it." Willett, who received 45.73 percent of the vote, said he was hoping to get a chance to serve the residents of Precinct 1.

"I was ready to serve the people but was a couple of hundred (votes) short," he said. "I did the best I could and I wish us all the best." Warren was thrilled to find out he would continue to do the job he loves. He was able to remain commissioner of Precinct 3 by defeating challenger Bill Daugette 2,192 to 1,553.

"I want to thank everybody for their support and trust for four more years," said Warren, who received 58.53 percent of the votes. "I love what I do and I love Walker County and Huntsville. They have been good to me. I think we have a good court going and I look forward to continuing to serve." Daugette, who received 41.47 percent of the votes, offered his congratulations to Warren.

"I would like congratulate Bobby. He ran a good race," Daugette said. "I commend him on his service and I would like to also thank my supporters for their help." Countz enjoyed the largest margin of victory Tuesday. He easily kept his Justice of the Peace seat by receiving 3,859 votes, or 70.27 percent, compared to 1,633, or 29.73 percent, for Tom Wood, who was unavailable for comment Tuesday night.

"I appreciate the voters in Precinct 2 giving me the opportunity to continue working as their Justice of the Peace," Countz said. "I feel like I am working for them. Our job is to do the very best job that we can every single day that we go to work. I appreciate that they have the confidence in me to let me continue beyond the year I was appointed." County voters also voted on a proposition for an Emergency Service District No. 3 on Tuesday. At press time before the mail-in ballot numbers were available, 634 had voted against and 606 for the ESD.

In the uncontested county races Tuesday, Sheriff Clint McRae received 13,347 votes; Tax Assessor-Collector Diane McRae 13,090; Precinct 1 Constable John W. Hooks 3,253; Precinct 2 Constable Reed Prehoda 4,340; Precinct 3 Constable Steve Hill 2,856; and Precinct 4 Constable Gene Bartee 2,435.

___ (c)2012 The Huntsville Item (Huntsville, Texas) Visit The Huntsville Item (Huntsville, Texas) at Distributed by MCT Information Services

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2017 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy