TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



BRIEF: Commissioners officially elected
[November 07, 2012]

BRIEF: Commissioners officially elected

Nov 07, 2012 (News-Topic - McClatchy-Tribune Information Services via COMTEX) -- In races that were largely a formality, three Republicans were elected to the Caldwell County Board of Commissioners, while the GOP Register of Deeds was re-elected.

All of the candidates were running unopposed, meaning that Republicans Clay Bollinger, Jeff Branch and Randy Church solidified their victories from May's primary election.

Church, who narrowly lost a seat on the commission four years ago while running as a Democrat, picked up 23,076 votes (34.39 percent) to lead the way. Jeff Branch followed with 22,696 votes (33.82 percent) and incumbent Clay Bollinger was re-elected with 21,333 votes (31.79 percent).

When sworn in next month, the commissioners will join fellow Republicans Chris Barlowe and Mike LaBrose on the board.

Meanwhile, incumbent Republican Wayne Rash collected 26,003 votes in gaining his third four-year term as Caldwell County Register of Deeds.

In a non-partisan race for Caldwell Soil and Water Conservation Board, incumbent Allen Tolbert secured a four-year term by defeating challenger Robert DeSantis. Tolbert tallied 19,520 votes (77.10 percent) to DeSantis' 5,585 votes (22.06 percent). There were 214 write-in votes.

The totals will be certified on Friday, Nov. 16 during the canvassing process.

___ (c)2012 the News-Topic (Lenoir, N.C.) Visit the News-Topic (Lenoir, N.C.) at Distributed by MCT Information Services

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2017 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy