TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Boston-Area Senior Life Member Wins IEEE-USA's Highest Honor; Among 17 Members Recognized
[July 12, 2014]

Boston-Area Senior Life Member Wins IEEE-USA's Highest Honor; Among 17 Members Recognized

(Targeted News Service Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) WASHINGTON, July 11 -- IEEE-USA, a unit of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, issued the following news release: Lennart E. Long, a co-founder and former chair of the IEEE conference on homeland security technologies, is the latest winner of IEEE-USA's highest honor, the Robert S. Walleigh Distinguished Contributions to Engineering Professionalism Award.

Long was recognized "for engaging government and industry leaders and IEEE members to respond to national security issues, and long-term advocacy for IEEE's affinity groups." The conference, now known as the IEEE International Symposium on Technologies for Homeland Security (HST), began soon after the tragedy of 9/11. It has grown into one of the most respected events featuring technologies designed to make a nation more secure.

HST, which will next be held in Long's hometown of Waltham, Mass., in April 2015, has the support of, among others, MIT Lincoln Laboratory and the Department of Homeland Security Science & Technology Directorate.

"Len used his considerable understanding of security organizations and his contacts to develop support for a conference that would bring together government leaders and technologists to discuss problems and propose solutions," fellow symposium co-founder Fausto Molinet said. "Many of the best solutions would be developed outside of the government, and a forum was needed." Long, an IEEE senior life member, chaired HST from 2001-09 and has been a special adviser to the chair since. He has served as chair of the Boston Section Life Member Committee since 2009. As an officer of the Boston Section Executive Committee, he played a key role in the education and professional development of the section's nearly 9,000 members. He also led an outreach effort to regional government, academic and industrial leaders to seek their guidance on educational and conference needs.

The Robert S. Walleigh Award is designed "to honor members of the engineering profession for long-term dedicated effort and outstanding accomplishments in advancing the aims of IEEE professional activities in the United States." Walleigh was an IEEE member electrical engineer who worked for the National Bureau of Standards - now the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) - for more than 35 years. He supervised the building of NIST headquarters in Gaithersburg, Md., and retired as a senior adviser for international affairs in 1979. For the next 18 years he worked as an IEEE-USA senior specialist.

IEEE-USA awards are approved by the organization's board of directors. The nomination deadline for 2014 awards is 29 August. For additional information, go to or contact David Iams at

Long is one of 17 individuals IEEE-USA recognized for their professionalism and technical achievements. The other award recipients were: Award for Distinguished Public Service The Honorable John D. Rockefeller IV For his record championing science and technology legislation promoting science technology and STEM education during his distinguished tenure in the U.S. Senate George F. McClure Citation of Honor Dr. Ron Hira For educating the public about the dangers of outsourcing, temporary visas and their effects on the engineering profession Harry Diamond Memorial Award Dr. David A. Tonn For contributions to the advancement of submarine antenna technology K-12 STEM Literacy Committee Educator-Engineer Partnership Award John Zulaski (Engineer) and Mary Smith (Educator) For creation of a STEM teaching program at public libraries in nine states utilizing STEM kits IEEE-USA Entrepreneur Achievement Award for Leadership in Entrepreneurial Spirit Richard Zulch For fostering the spirit of entrepreneurship through a lifetime of innovation, philanthropy and volunteerism Jim Watson Student Professional Awareness Achievement Award John Paserba For advancing student professional awareness activities, and for leadership in the IEEE-USA Student Professional Awareness Committee and the IEEE Student Activities Committee The IEEE-USA Award for Distinguished Literary Contributions Furthering Public Understanding and the Advancement of the Engineering Profession Judith Love Cohen For a lifetime dedication to journalistic STEM education for young women Regional Professional Leadership Award Denise Griffin For inspiring professional networking and youth through STEM awareness initiatives Susan Donohue For championing pre-university STEM education in Region 1 Divisional Professional Leadership Award Dr. Stephanie White For inspiring women to study and work in STEM fields, and for leadership in diversity initiatives Dr. Saeed Kamalina For organizing educational events for power and energy professionals, students and the local community Professional Achievement Award for Individuals Mohammad "Mo" Jamshidi For founding the IEEE Systems Journal and promoting the systems engineering profession Meyya Meyyappan For championing nanotechnology awareness and education through the development of Nagi Naganathan For service to IEEE, METSAC and the Princeton/Central Jersey Section Lee Oien, P.E.

For leadership in the first volunteer-led IEEE-USA Annual Meeting and the first SUSTECH (Sustainable Technology) Conference.

TNS 24HariCha-140712-30FurigayJane-4795244 30FurigayJane (c) 2014 Targeted News Service

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy