TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Royal Society Elects New Fellows for 2013
[May 11, 2014]

Royal Society Elects New Fellows for 2013

(Targeted News Service Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) LONDON, May 3 -- The Royal Society issued the following news release: Pioneers of the Internet, computing, climate modelling and virtual surgery are just some of the experts who have been announced as new Fellows of the Royal Society ( today (3 May 2013).

Sophie Wilson has been elected for her contribution to computer architecture, including the BBC Microcomputer and BBC BASIC that introduced a generation to computing. She is joined by Dr Michael Burrows, of Google Inc, who is distinguished for his pioneering work on web search and indexing, helping to design of the early search engine Altavista.

Lord Ara Darzi PC KBE FMedSci HonFREng has been made a Fellow for his fundamental contributions to the quality and safety of surgery. Professor Jon Crowcroft has been acknowledged for his seminal contributions to the development of the Internet, including techniques that paved the way for rural broadband. Professor Joanna Haigh has been elected for her leadership in the area of solar influences on the middle atmosphere, with work she developed being now being used my climate modelling groups across the world.

Newly elected Foreign Member, Professor Zhu Chen, is noted for important contributions to the treatment of leukemia, both in understanding novel drug action and their translation into clinical use. He was one of the principal investigators responsible for sequencing the genome of the main type of bilharzia (S Japonicum) in Asia. He has also distinguished himself as a former Minister of Health for the People's Republic of China and served as vice-president of the Chinese Academy of Sciences from 2000 - 2007.

Author, Bill Bryson, has been elected an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society. His books and lectures demonstrate an abiding love for science. His "Short History of Nearly Everything" continues to be an international best seller, and by editing "Seeing Further" for its 350th Anniversary he enabled the Royal Society to communicate to a wide audience the excitement and relevance of its own history.

HRH The Duke York KG GCVO has been elected a Royal Fellow of the Society for his long interest in science and its applications, and his strong and active support of many of the activities of the Society.

Sir Paul Nurse, President of the Royal Society, said: "Science helps us to better understand ourselves and the natural world around us and has a huge role to play in future economic prosperity and the health of our planet and its 7 billion people. In the coming decades we are going to find ourselves more and more dependent on the solutions. Science can offer to grand challenges such as food shortages, climate change and tackling disease. These scientists who have been elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society have already contributed much to the scientific endeavour following in the footsteps of pioneers such as Newton, Darwin and Einstein and it gives me great pleasure to welcome them into our ranks." The full list of Fellows and Foreign Members who have been elected is as follows: Fellows Professor Harry Laurence Anderson FRS - University of Oxford Professor Judith Patricia Armitage FRS - University of Oxford Professor Keith Ball FRS - University of Warwick Professor Michael Webster Bevan FRS - John Innes Centre Professor Mervyn James Bibb FRS - John Innes Centre Sir Stephen R Bloom FMedSci FRS - Imperial College London Professor Gilles Brassard FRS - Universite de Montreal Dr Michael Burrows FRS - Google Inc.

Professor Jon Andrew Crowcroft FRS - University of Cambridge Lord Ara Darzi PC KBE FMedSci HonFREng FRS - Imperial College London and The Institute of Cancer Research Professor William Charles Earnshaw FMedSci FRS - University of Edinburgh Professor Gerard F Gilmore FRS - University of Cambridge Professor Nigel Glover FRS - Durham University Professor Raymond E Goldstein FRS - University of Cambridge Professor Melvyn Goodale FRS - University of Western Ontario Professor Martin Green AM FRS - University of New South Wales Professor Gillian Margaret Griffiths FMedSci FRS - Cambridge Institute for Medical Research Professor Joanna Dorothy Haigh FRS - Imperial College London Dr Phillip Thomas Hawkins FMedSci FRS - The Babraham Institute Professor Edith Heard FRS - Institut Curie Professor Gideon Henderson FRS - University of Oxford Professor Guy Charles Lloyd-Jones FRS - University of Bristol Professor Stephen P Long FRS - University of Illinois Dr Nicholas Lydon FRS - AnaptysBio and BluePrint Medicines Professor Anne Mills FMedSci FRS - London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine Professor Paul O'Brien FRS - University of Manchester Professor William Richardson FMedSci FRS - University College London Professor Gareth Owen Roberts FRS - University of Warwick Professor Ronald Kerry Rowe FREng FRS - Queen's University Sir John Stewart Savill FMedSci FRS - University of Edinburgh Professor Christopher Schofield FRS - University of Oxford Professor Paul M Sharp FRS - University of Edinburgh Professor Stephen James Simpson FRS - University of Sydney.

Professor Terence Paul Speed FRS - Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research Professor Maria Grazia Spillantini FMedSci FRS - University of Cambridge Professor Douglas W Stephan FRS - University of Toronto Professor Brigitta Stockinger FMedSci FRS - MRC National Institute for Medical Research Dr Alan Turnbull FRS - National Physical Laboratory Dr Jean-Paul Vincent FMedSci FRS - MRC National Institute for Medical Research Professor Andrew Wilkie FMedSci FRS - University of Oxford Ms Sophie Wilson FRS - Microprocessor Architect Professor Terry Wyatt FRS - University of Manchester Professor Julia Yeomans FRS - University of Oxford Professor Robert Joseph Young FREng FRS - University of Manchester Foreign Members Professor Margaret Buckingham ForMemRS - Institut Pasteur Professor Zhu Chen ForMemRS - Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine Professor John Hutchinson ForMemRS - Harvard University Professor Eric Kandel ForMemRS - Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor Elliott Hershel Lieb ForMemRS - Princeton University Professor Kyriacos C Nicolaou ForMemRS - The Scripps Research Institute Professor Randy Schekman ForMemRS - University of California Professor Eli Yablonovitch ForMemRS - University of California Honorary Fellow Mr Bill Bryson - Author Royal Fellow HRH The Duke of York KG GCVO TNS 24KuanRap-140506 30FurigayJof-4725880 30FurigayJof (c) 2014 Targeted News Service

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy