TMCnet News

FCC Announces Formation of the Technological Advisory Council
[October 22, 2010]

FCC Announces Formation of the Technological Advisory Council

(Targeted News Service Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) WASHINGTON, Oct. 21 -- The Federal Communications Commission issued the following news release: The Federal Communications Commission today announced the formation of the Technological Advisory Council. The Council, comprised of a diverse array of leading technical experts, will help the Commission to identify important areas of innovation and develop informed technology policies supporting America's competitiveness and job creation in the global economy.

"I'm pleased to announce that the FCC has formed a new Technological Advisory Council, comprised of some of the leading technology and business leaders in our country," said FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski. "Under the excellent leadership of Tom Wheeler, these experts will provide counsel on using spectrum and other communications technologies to drive job creation and economic growth, generating concrete ideas, and acting as a spur to FCC to action." Tom Wheeler, Managing Director, Core Capital Partners, will serve as Chairman of the Council. Mr. Wheeler previously served as the CEO of the Cellular Telecommunications and Internet Association and has founded multiple companies offering cable, video and voice communications services. Doug Sicker, Chief Technologist of the FCC, will work with the TAC Chairman in developing its work program. Walter Johnston, Chief of the Electromagnetic Compatibility Division, will serve as the Designated Federal Officer. Julius Knapp, Chief of the Office of Engineering and Technology will serve as the Alternate Designated Federal Officer.

The TAC will consider and advise the Commission on a variety of topics, many of which will build on the ideas and recommendations in the National Broadband Plan, such as how broadband communications can be part of the solution for the delivery and cost containment of health care, for energy and environmental conservation, for education innovation and in the creation of jobs. Other topics may include the evolution of broadband networks and devices and their implications, spectrum management, research and development in broadband and other communications areas, and how to promote innovation and investment.

The first meeting of the Council will be November 4th, 2010, from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm in the Commission Meeting Room, 445 12th Street, S.W., Washington, D.C. The Council will discuss organizational matters, be briefed on key technical issues facing the Commission, and will work to define the issues that the Council will address. The public is invited to attend.

Members of the Technological Advisory Council listed below. For further information, contact Walter Johnston at 202-418-0807, [email protected].

Members of the Technological Advisory Council * (Chair) Tom Wheeler, Managing Director, Core Capital Partners representing Core Capital Partners * Mark Bayliss, President, Visual Link Internet, Lc, representing Virginia ISP Association and West Virginia Broadband Cooperative * Nomi Bergman, President, Bright House Networks, representing Bright House Networks * Peter Bloom, Advisory Director, General Atlantic, representing General Atlantic * Vinton Cerf, Vice President and Chief Internet Evangelist, Google, representing Google * John Chapin, Visiting Scientist, Communication & Network Group, Research Laboratory of Electronics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, representing the Wireless Innovation Forum * kc claffy, Adjunct Professor in the Computer Science and Engineering Department, UC at San Diego, representing the Cooperative Association for Internet Data Analysis * David Clark, Senior Research Scientist, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, MIT, serving as Special Government Employee * Lynn Claudy, Senior Vice President of Science and Technology, National Association of Broadcasters, representing the National Association of Broadcasters * Richard Currier, Vice President and Chief Technical Officer, Loral Space and Communications, representing Loral * Brian Daly, Director, AT&T, Core & Government/Regulatory Standards, Chief Technology Officer - Strategic Standards, AT&T, representing AT&T * Adam Drobot, Managing Director and CTO, 2M Companies, representing 2M * Tom Evslin, Member of the Board, Vermont Telecommunications Authority, State of Vermont, representing the Governor, State of Vermont * Charlotte Field, Senior Vice President - Infrastructure and Operations, National Engineering and Technical Operations, Comcast Corporation, representing Comcast * Mark Gorenberg, Managing Director, Hummer Winblad Venture Partners, representing Hummer Winblad Venture Partners * Dick Green, Board Member, Liberty Global Inc., representing Liberty Global * Dale Hatfield, Executive Director, Silicon Flatirons Center for Law, Technology, and Entrepreneurship, University of Colorado at Boulder, representing Silicon Flatirons Center * Erwin Hudson, Executive Vice President & Chief Technology Officer, WildBlue Communications, Inc., representing WildBlue * Ari Juels, Chief Scientist, RSA Laboratories / EMC, representing EMC * Kevin Kahn, Intel Senior Fellow, Director Communications Technology, Intel Labs, Intel Corporation, representing Intel * Gregory Lapin, Independent Consultant, representing American Radio Relay League * Richard Lynch, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Verizon, representing Verizon * Brian Markwalter, Vice President Technology & Standards, Consumer Electronics Association, representing the Consumer Electronics Association * John McHugh, Technical Director, OPASTCO, representing OPASTCO * Geoffrey Mendenhall, Vice President - Transmission Research & Technology , Harris Corporation, representing Harris Corporation * Randy Nicklas, Chief Technology Officer, XO Communications, representing XO * Hilton Nicholson, CEO and Board Member SIXNET, representing SIXNET * Roberto Padovani, Chief Technology Officer, Qualcomm, Incorporated, representing Qualcomm * Daniel Reed, Corporate Vice President Technology Strategy and Policy and eXtreme Computing Group, Microsoft, representing Microsoft * Dennis Roberson, Vice Provost and Research Professor, representing Wireless Network and Communications Center (WiNCom) * Jesse Russell, Chairman and CEO, incNETWORKS, representing incNETWORKS * Andy Setos, President, Engineering, Fox Group, representing Fox * Marvin Sirbu, Professor of Engineering and Public Policy, Industrial Administration and Electrical and Computer Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University, serving as Special Government Employee * Paul Steinberg, Chief Technology Officer for Motorola Solutions, representing, Motorola * Harold Teets, Senior Vice President, Information and Network Technologies, Time Warner Telecom, Inc., representing Time Warner * David Tennenhouse, Partner, New Venture Partners, representing New Venture Partners * Bud Tribble, Vice President Software Technology, Apple, Inc., representing Apple * Jack Waters, Chief Technology Officer, Level 3 Communications LLC, representing Level 3 * Robert Zitter, Chief Technology Officer, Home Box Office, representing HBO Designated Federal Officer * Walter Johnston, Chief Electromagnetic Compatibility Division, FCC.

Alternate Designated Federal Officer * Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology, FCC TNS MT93 101022-3067572 61MarlizTagarum (c) 2010 Targeted News Service

[ Back To's Homepage ]