TMCnet News

[March 31, 2006]


(New Zealand Press Association Via Thomson Dialog NewsEdge)Wellington, March 31 NZPA - Josiah Lester and Jared Pehi set the standard for Hamilton Boys' High School by winning the under-18 pairs at the national secondary schools rowing regatta near Twizel today.

They held off a strong challenge from South Island champions, David Waddell and Grant Fahey, of Otago BHS, at Lake Ruataniwha.

After an extremely close heat on Monday, Lester and Pehi knew about the Otago crew's finishing powers

``Otago have a brilliant last 750 (metres), but we managed to hold them off. Basically it was a repeat of the heats,'' Lester said.

Lester and Pehi went on to win a second gold at the Maadi Cup regatta when they joined Josh Payne and Tyson Williams, plus coxswain Sam Purvis, for Hamilton BHS to defend their under-18 coxed four title.

A photo-finish was needed to separate the minor medallists, with Wanganui Collegiate second ahead of St Kentigern College.

The girls' under-18 pairs title was won by Anna Revington and Matilda Halley, of Gisborne HS, ahead of two Rangi Ruru crews.

Two protests, both dismissed, came at the end of the boys' under-15 eight.

Hamilton BHS were awarded the gold followed by Westlake Boys and Dunstan HS from Alexandria third.

Favourites Auckland Grammar stopped early but still managed to pull through to fifth.

Hosts Twizel won their first gold medal ever when Caitlin Feasey and Zoe Evans triumphed in the girls' under-16 double sculls.

Feasey and Evans are two of just four rowers at Twizel Area School.

The strain of racing was evident in the boys' under-18 lightweight coxed four where winners Bethlehem College, of Tauranga, set the pace to finish ahead of Hamilton BHS and St Kentigern.

Mt Maunganui College's Genevieve Armstrong held off a determined late bid by Rebecca Boyes, of Katikati College, to win the girls' under-18 single sculls. Frances Skilton, of Wanganui Collegiate, was third.

Finals racing continues tomorrow.


[ Back To's Homepage ]