TMCnet News

Finalists of the 2019 Reaxys® PhD Prize Announced
[July 30, 2019]

Finalists of the 2019 Reaxys® PhD Prize Announced

LONDON, July 30, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- Elsevier, the global information analytics company specializing in science and health, today announced the 45 finalists for the 2019 Reaxys PhD Prize.

Elsevier Logo

Launched in 2010, the Reaxys PhD Prize celebrates innovative and rigorous research by ambitious young chemists. This year's competition maintained the high standards of previous years. The Review Committee have rigorously examined over 360 entries from around the globe to arrive at the 45 finalists.

"We are extremely happy to see the Reaxys PhD Prize established again," said Dr. Friedrich Kroll, co-organizer of the competition. "It is so important that young innovative researchers of different disciplines are gathering to celebrate their achievements, are supported in establishing networks to address current scientific challenges—often solvable by working across disciplines."

The 45 finalists are invited to the Reaxys PhD Prize Symposium that will be held on October 3 and 4, 2019, in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. This celebratory gathering includes special events, poster sessions for finalists to showcase their research, keynote presentations and a gala dinner. It is also a great opportunity to network with fellow finalists and international leaders in chemistry.

During the Reaxys Prize Symposium the ten short-listed finalists will give oral presentations of their research. From these presentations, the Reaxys Advisory Board will select the three winners of the 2019 Reaxys PhD Prize. The winners will be announced at the gala dinner on the final evening of the Symposium.

"This year more than 360 submissions were evaluated by over 200 international chemists from across academia and industry," said Professor Li-Zhu Wu, Director of the Supramolecular Photochemistry Lab at the Chinese Academy of Sciences and one of the Prize coordinators. "The PhD Prize is a perfect starting point to build relationships and to solve interdisciplinary problems in science and the environment."

The finalists receive lifelong membership in the Reaxys Prize Club, an exclusive international network of chemists from all research areas and career paths. Members also receive unlimited access to Elsevier's Reaxys platform and Reaxys Medicinal cheistry.

This year's finalists and their PhD institutions are:

  • Mr. Máté Bezdek, Princeton University
  • Mr. Jonas Börgel, Max-Planck Institut für Kohlenforschung
  • Dr. Jeffrey Bruffaerts, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
  • Ms. Karen De La Vega Hernandez, Sorbonne Université, Faculté des Sciences et Ingénierie
  • Mr. André Eckhardt, University Giessen
  • Dr. Aya Eizawa, The University of Tokyo
  • Dr. Alexander Fawcett, University of Bristol, UK
  • Dr. Julie Fenton, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Ms. Ana García Herraiz, Institut Catala d´Investigació Química (ICIQ)
  • Mr. Michael Geeson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Mrs. Mallory Green, Emory University
  • Mr. Yuwei Gu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Dr. Dominik Halter, Friedrich-Alexander-University Erlangen-Nuernberg    
  • Mr. Tatsuya Higaki, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Mrs. Alena Hölzl-Hobmeier, Technische Universität München
  • Ms. Suzanne Jansze, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL)
  • Dr. Daniel Kaiser, University of Vienna
  • Mr. Gavin Kiel, University of California, Berkeley
  • Mr. Yong Ho Lee, ETH Zürich
  • Dr. Samuel Levi, Harvard University
  • Dr. Lichen Liu, Universitat Politècnica de València
  • Mr. Zhen Liu, The Scripps Research Institute
  • Mr. Victor Pui-Yan Ma, Emory University
  • Mr. Runze Mao, EPFL (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne)
  • Mr. Rory McAtee, University of Michigan
  • Dr. Yoonsu Park, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology 
  • Mr. Andrew Pun, Columbia University    
  • Dr. Yujia Qing, University of Oxford
  • Dr. Douglas Reed, University of California, Berkeley
  • Dr. Felix, Rizzuto University of Cambridge, UK
  • Mr. Jose Roque, University of California, Berkeley
  • Dr. Thomas Scattolin, RWTH Aachen University
  • Dr. Elisabeth Speckmeier, University of Leipzig, Institute of Organic Chemistry
  • Dr. Ryo Takahata, The University of Tokyo
  • Dr. Robert Tromans, University of Bristol
  • Dr. Aaron Trowbridge, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Ms. Yuwen Wang, Technische Universität Berlin 
  • Ms. Yi Wei, Central China Normal University
  • Dr. Andrew Wilson, University of Bath
  • Mr. Yumeng Xi, University of California, Berkeley
  • Dr. Yan Xu, The University of Chicago
  • Dr. Wen Zhang, Shanghai Institute of Organic Chemistry
  • Mr. Xin  Zhang, Nanyang Technological University
  • Dr. Liang Zhang, The University of Manchester
  • Dr. Linan Zhou, Rice University

Find out more about the Reaxys PhD Prize.

About Elsevier

Elsevier is a global information analytics business that helps scientists and clinicians to find new answers, reshape human knowledge, and tackle the most urgent human crises. For 140 years, we have partnered with the research world to curate and verify scientific knowledge. Today, we're committed to bringing that rigor to a new generation of platforms. Elsevier provides digital solutions and tools in the areas of strategic research management, R&D performance, clinical decision support, and professional education; including ScienceDirect, Scopus, SciVal, ClinicalKey and Sherpath. Elsevier publishes over 2,500 digitized journals, including The Lancet and Cell, 39,000 e-book titles and many iconic reference works, including Gray's Anatomy. Elsevier is part of RELX, a global provider of information-based analytics and decision tools for professional and business customers.

Media contact

Jonathan Davis, Communications Officer
[email protected]

Cision View original content:

SOURCE Elsevier

[ Back To's Homepage ]