TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Linus Torvalds Named Recipient of the 2014 IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award
[April 23, 2014]

Linus Torvalds Named Recipient of the 2014 IEEE Computer Society Computer Pioneer Award

(Targeted News Service Via Acquire Media NewsEdge) LOS ALAMITOS, Calif., April 23 -- The IEEE Computer Society issued the following news release: Linus Torvalds, the principal force behind development of the Linux kernel and overseer of open source development for the Linux operating system, has been named the 2014 recipient of the IEEE Computer Society's Computer Pioneer Award.

Torvalds, a native of Helsinki, Finland, began working on the Linux kernel in 1991. An avid computer programmer, he authored many gaming applications in his early years. He did his early work on an Intel 386 CPU, using Minix, an Unix-inspired operating system created by Andrew Tanenbaum for use as a teaching tool. After Torvalds formed a team of volunteers to work on the Linux kernel, V1.0 was released in the spring of 1994.

Torvalds in 1996 joined Transmeta, a California-based startup that was designing an energy-saving central processing unit (CPU). He continued to oversee kernel development for Linux, and in 2003 left Transmeta to focus exclusively on the Linux kernel as a Fellow at The Linux Foundation (known at the time as Open Source Development Labs). Torvalds remains the ultimate authority on what new code is incorporated into the standard Linux kernel.

Torvalds is the recipient of the Technology Academy of Finland's Millennium Technology Prize (2012), NEC's C&C Prize (2010), the Takreda Award for Social/Economic Well-Being (2008), the British Computer Society's Lovelace Medal (2000), and the Electronic Frontier Foundation Pioneer Award (1998). In addition, he was inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame (2012) and the Computer History Museum's Hall of Fellows (2008).

The Computer Pioneer Award was established in 1981 by the IEEE Computer Society Board of Governors to recognize and honor the vision of those whose efforts resulted in the creation and continued vitality of the computer industry. The award is presented to outstanding individuals whose main contribution to the concepts and development of the computer field was made at least 15 years earlier. The recognition is engraved on a bronze medal.

Recent Pioneer Award recipients include ENIAC programmer Betty Jean Jennings Bartik, VLSI expert Lynn Conway, artificial intelligence innovator Edward Feigenbaum, parallel programming pioneer David Kuck, digital systems designer Edward McCluskey, MATLAB creator Cleve Moler, petri net theory developer Carl Petri, and programming languages pioneer Jean Sammet. For more information, visit

TNS 24HariCha-140423-30FurigayJane-4711456 30FurigayJane (c) 2014 Targeted News Service

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy