TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Nominations Are Being Sought for Prestigious Marconi Prize and Young Scholars Awards
[April 15, 2014]

Nominations Are Being Sought for Prestigious Marconi Prize and Young Scholars Awards

MOUNTAIN VIEW, Calif. --(Business Wire)--

The Marconi Society is seeking nominations for its two prestigious awards programs, the Marconi Prize and the Marconi Society Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards.

The $100,000 Marconi Prize, considered the pinnacle honor in the field of communication and information science, is awarded annually to a living scientist or scientists who have made a significant contribution to those fields. The award was established by Gioia Marconi Braga to honor her father, Guglielmo Marconi, the inventor of radio.

Marconi Fellows include an elite list of individuals whose work set the stage for modern telecommunications and the Internet, from Interne pioneers Robert Kahn, Paul Baran, Vint Cerf and Leonard Kleinrock to leading fiber optics inventors Sir Charles Kao and Sir David Payne; from World Wide Web creator Sir Tim Berners-Lee to Google founders Sergey Brin and Larry Page (News - Alert). Wireless luminaries Irwin Jacobs, Henry Samueli and Marty Cooper have been among more recent winners, and the 2014 Prize will go to Arogyaswami Paulraj, whose invention of MIMO is at the heart of the current high speed WiFi (News - Alert) and 4G mobile systems.

Nominations for the Marconi Prize may be submitted at any time, but the deadline for consideration for the 2015 Prize is July 31, 2014. For more information about the Marconi Prize go to

The Paul Baran Young Scholar Awards also are presented annually, and include a cash prize of $4000 plus $1000 expenses to attend the Society's annual awards gala. These awards recognize outstanding young scientists and engineers anywhere in the world who have demonstrated exceptional capabilities and potential and are making a mark in the field of telecommunications and the Internet. A nomination must be submitted on behalf of the candidate by a faculty or technical advisor. The deadline is May 30, 2014. To be eligible for this year's awards, nominees must have been born in 1987 or later.

The 2014 Marconi Prize and Young Scholar awards will be presented on Oct. 2, 2014 in Washington, D.C. For more information, go to

The Marconi Prize has been awarded since 1975 and the Young Scholar Awards have been granted since 2008. For more information about the Marconi Society, visit

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy