TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Metis Representative Elected to WBEA Governance Committee
[January 08, 2013]

Metis Representative Elected to WBEA Governance Committee

FORT MCMURRAY, ALBERTA, Jan 8, 2013 (Marketwire via COMTEX) -- A representative of the Fort McKay Metis community was elected to the Governance Committee of the Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) in December 2012.

Peter Fortna, Manager of Sustainable Development with the Fort McKay Metis has joined WBEA's Governance Committee as the new Secretary/Treasurer.

WBEA Executive Director, Dr. Kevin Percy, is pleased to have Peter on board. Dr. Percy said, "I welcome Peter as our newest member of the WBEA Governance Committee. Peter has been attending WBEA general and committee meetings and has a very good understanding WBEA's Mission and Values. The Metis community is a very important stakeholder within WBEA, and we are glad to have the Metis perspective represented at our boardroom table." Of his new position, Fortna said, "I am looking forward to taking on a more active role within WBEA. Environmental monitoring is something that is very near and dear to the Fort McKay Metis, and I am proud to represent their interests at the WBEA table." The Fort McKay Metis people are members of the community of Fort McKay and their growing and diverse membership is represented by the Fort McKay Metis Community, a not-for-profit society incorporated under the Alberta Societies Act (

The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA) is an independent, community based, not-for-profit organization that monitors the air in the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. This is done through a variety of air, land and human monitoring programs. The air quality information collected is openly shared with stakeholders and the public.

For more information please visit

Backgrounder: The Governance Committee is made up of seven representatives from WBEA's larger General Membership: Diane Phillips, Syncrude Canada Ltd. - WBEA President Nick Veriotes, Total E&P Canada Ltd. - Vice President Peter Fortna, Fort McKay Metis Community - Secretary/Treasurer Daniel Stuckless, Fort McKay Sustainability Department - WBEA Director Lance Miller, Devon - WBEA Director Michael Aiton, Alberta Environment - WBEA Director Angela Pohl, Suncor Energy - WBEA Director WBEA is made up of 28 member organizations: -- Alberta Environment & Sustainable Resource Development -- Alberta Health Services -- Canadian Natural Resources Ltd.

-- Cenovus Energy -- Conoco Phillips Canada -- Devon Canada Corp -- Energy Resources Conservation Board -- Environment Canada -- Finning -- Fort McKay First Nation -- Fort McKay Metis Local 63 -- Fort McMurray Environmental Association -- Hammerstone Corporation -- Health Canada -- Husky Energy -- Imperial Exxon-Mobil Oil -- MEG Energy -- Nexen Inc.

-- Pembina Institute for Appropriate Development -- Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo -- Saskatchewan Environment -- Shell Albian Sands -- Statoil Canada Ltd.

-- Suncor Energy Inc.

-- Sunshine Oilsands Ltd.

-- Syncrude Canada Ltd.

-- Total Canada -- Williams Energy FOR FURTHER INFORMATION PLEASE CONTACT: Melissa Pennell WBEA Communications 780-977-8440 SOURCE: The Wood Buffalo Environmental Association (WBEA)

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2017 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy