TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Concerts to Showcase New Work Drawn from Early Mission Music
[December 31, 2012]

Concerts to Showcase New Work Drawn from Early Mission Music

San Luis Obispo, CA, Dec 31, 2012 ( via COMTEX) -- History buffs and music lovers alike can enjoy the lush, exquisite sounds of early mission music and Vivaldi's beloved "The Four Seasons" in the California Missions Tour this January, presented by the San Luis Obispo Symphony.

For one weekend only, this journey through time includes three concerts at three historic missions, where a new piece titled "Ecos Armónicos" will be heard for the first time in the venues that inspired its creation.

California Missions Tour 2013 unites versatile young violinist Shunské Sato with the SLO Symphony Chamber Players and Maestro Michael Nowak on Jan. 12 and 13. Guests can enjoy intimate chamber music concerts at Mission San Miguel (Jan. 12 at 2:30 p.m.), Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa (Jan. 12 at 8 p.m.), and Mission Santa Barbara (Jan. 13 at 3 p.m.). Tickets range from general to premium seating and cost between $15 and $35 for each concert.

Drawn from re-discovered early mission music by composer Dr. Craig Russell, "Ecos Armónicos" translates into "Harmonic Echoes" and was originally inspired by the Missions of California. Their walls offer distinctive acoustics that can't be replicated anywhere else. Russell, an award-winning California Polytechnic State University professor and musicologist, discovered snippets of tunes and themes in mission archives from the late 18th and early 19th centuries and drew from them to craft a new work he calls "Ecos Armónicos." Proceeds from ticket sales benefit the SLO Symphony and its programs. The SLO Symphony is a nonprofit organization that continually strives to support an outstanding community orchestra, foster symphonic and chamber music education, and contribute to the cultural and economic vitality of the Central Coast community. Because of the size of each mission, seating is limited for each concert. Tickets for one or all concerts are on sale at or (805) 543-3533.

ABOUT SAN LUIS OBISPO SYMPHONY Since 1961, the San Luis Obispo Symphony has grown from a fledgling community orchestra to a thriving cultural presence that has toured the world, playing well-known venues such as Carnegie Hall, the Sydney Opera House and the Walt Disney Concert Hall. The Symphony also dedicates fully one third of its annual budget to music education, serving thousands of children and adults throughout San Luis Obispo County every year. For more information, visit the Symphony website at

ABOUT VIVALDI'S 'THE FOUR SEASONS" "The Four Seasons" is a set of four violin concertos by Italian composer Antonio Vivaldi, composed in 1723. It is his best-known work and is among the most popular pieces of Baroque music. Perhaps most well known for its unique texture, each concerto resembles its own respective season.

ABOUT "ECOS ARMÓNICOS" "'Ecos armónicos' is a thoroughly modern composition that explores the sounds from California's past, drawing up on snippets of tunes that resonated in the various mission communities and presidio fortresses in the late 18th and early 19th centuries. In a sense, they are echoes of influences brought from Spain by Franciscan friars that were then repeated as the native communities learned them - and in some ways transformed them--adding their own levels of harmony." ~ An excerpt from program notes by composer Dr. Craig Russell.

Read the full story at

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2018 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy