TMCnet - World's Largest Communications and Technology Community



Shipyard steelworkers re-elect Outlaw
[April 12, 2012]

Shipyard steelworkers re-elect Outlaw

Apr 12, 2012 (Daily Press - McClatchy-Tribune Information Services via COMTEX) -- United Steelworkers Local 8888 president Arnold Outlaw was re-elected Thursday, beating out the union's former vice president Kenneth "Chan" Lewis with 55 percent of the vote.

Outlaw is a hardened shipyard veteran known for his combative style and populist message. He led the yard's workers during the 1999 labor stoppage, earning him a reputation as a tireless advocate for the blue-collar workers at Newport News Shipbuilding.

He served as the union's chief from 1997 to 2003, lost consecutive elections to Alton H. Glass Sr. in 2003 and 2006, and was then elected president again in 2009.

His next term lasts three years. That means he'll lead the union when the contract between its roughly 10,000 hourly workers and shipyard owner Huntington Ingalls Industries runs out in March 2013.

Results for Outlaw's contest and for the rest of the local's executive board are as follows: President: *ARNOLD OUTLAW 681; Kenneth "Chan" Lewis 559 Vice president: MICHAEL "MIKE" Lee 632; *Darnell Anthony 596 Financial secretary: *CINDY BOYD-WILLIAMS 754; Shannon Brown 468 Treasurer: VERNA CHAMBERLISS 588; Janet Jones 409; Wayne Ellison 235 Guide: PHYLLIS SESSOMS 701; Carol Green 504 Guard (2 elected): *TYRONE WARD 668; *ORA COUNCIL 499; Milton Bates 384; Roderick Nicholson 328; Aaron Romley 225 Trustee (3 elected): ROBERT KEYES 627; VICTOR BOONE 518; RALPH HUNT 504; Alycia Outlaw 461; Alonzo Townes 358; Charlene Jones 356; Freddie James 296 --= incumbent Bold = winner ___ (c)2012 the Daily Press (Newport News, Va.) Visit the Daily Press (Newport News, Va.) at Distributed by MCT Information Services

[ Back To's Homepage ]

Technology Marketing Corporation

35 Nutmeg Drive Suite 340, Trumbull, Connecticut 06611 USA
Ph: 800-243-6002, 203-852-6800
Fx: 203-866-3326

General comments:
Comments about this site:


© 2017 Technology Marketing Corporation. All rights reserved | Privacy Policy